Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Apr 13

Public-Private School Partnerships: Expanding Opportunities for Equity, Mutual-Understanding, and Scholarship Across the Economic Divide

April 13, 2021 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Public-Private School Partnerships: Expanding Opportunities for Equity, Mutual-Understanding, and Scholarship Across the Economic Divide

Tuesday, April 13, 2021

12:00-1:00 PM (Hawaii Standard Time)

3:00-4:00 PM Pacific / 5:00-6:00 PM Central / 6:00-7:00 PM Eastern

Online Via Zoom

$25 (Proceeds will be donated to Hanahau’oli School’s The Skills We Need Summer Bridge Program)

After nearly two decades as an educator in Hawaii, Carl Ackerman has a plan to unite private and public schools, to make both institutions better. Recently documented in his new book, A Success Story in Public Education: The Clarence T. C. Ching PUEO Program at Punahou and Its Partnership-Marriage Methodology, Dr. Ackerman’s plan aims to provide students in the public sector with an “equal playing field,” so that they can succeed in their public school educational pursuits and go on to college. It concurrently works to benefit personnel and students in private schools through expanded community involvement, and opportunities for engagement between public and private school students, which both result in increased community support of the private school.

In this public talk, Dr. Ackerman will bring his plan to life by sharing about his work with the nationally celebrated Clarence T. C. Ching PUEO Program at Punahou School. He will describe the program and explain how he was guided by General Manager Billy Beane’s success with the Oakland A’s Baseball Team, as it was celebrated in the movie Moneyball. He will be joined by Mr. Ken Okamoto, Board member of the Clarence T.C. Ching Foundation, and Dr. Brad Kerwin, former PUEO teacher and CEO of the Reading Company. Together, they will respond to questions generated by Hanahau’oli School Professional Development Center Director Amber Makaiau and the audience.

Details

Date:
April 13, 2021
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/public-private-school-partnerships-registration-140897110049