Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Feb 26

MOVING FROM THEORY TO PRACTICE: USING THE SOCIAL JUSTICE STANDARDS IN ANTI-BIAS CLASSROOMS

February 26, 2021 @ 12:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Moving From Theory To Practice: Using the Social Justice Standards in Anti-Bias Classrooms

Friday, February 26, 2021

12:30-3:00 PM (Hawaii Standard Time)

2:30-5:00 PM Pacific / 4:30-7:00 PM Central / 5:30-8:00 PM Eastern

Online Via Zoom

$25

The Learning for Justice (formerly Teaching Tolerance) Anti-bias Framework and Social Justice Standards are a unique set of benchmarks to guide anti-bias education at every grade level and promote a spectrum of engagement with critical issues both in and outside of the classroom. Organized into four domains—identity, diversity, justice and action—the Framework includes anchor standards and grade level outcomes for students in K-2, 3-5, 6-8 and 9-12 classrooms.

Led by the Standard’s author, Emily Chiariello, this workshop will provide an introduction to the Framework as well as a deeper dive into each of the four interlocking domains—identity, diversity, justice and action. With textual and curricular examples of each standard, participants will gain an understanding of how to integrate elements of both prejudice reduction and collective action into their work as social justice educators. This workshop is interactive and will engage participants with a combination of visual and multimedia content and online features such as chat, polling and break out rooms.